Sardar Patel College Logo



Education plays a vital role in promoting the egalitarian commitments of equality and justice enshrined in the constitution of India. Institutions of higher education today are more sundry than ever before and these institutions are the closest in gratifying the potential of India’s ideals of equality and social justice. Women constitute 42% of all students in higher education in India. At the same time this closing gender gap hides ongoing inequalities and disparities among men and women, which can only be approached with an inter sectional analysis that combines gender, class, caste, religion ability and sexuality among others. Claims of equality, decorum and the ability to live, work and study without fear of harassment are the intrinsic ingredients of having a Cell within the college in accord with UGC’s directives.

The College has established a Women Welfare Committee in the college campus to empower girl students, to enhance understanding of issues related to women and to make the college campus a safe place for women students. With a view to taking up women’s issues and problems, the cell aims at creating awareness of their rights and duties. It also provides a platform for women to share their experiences and views regarding their status in the society and to suggest ways to improve and empower themselves. Aiming at intellectual and social upliftment of the female students, the cell stands for facilitating women’s empowerment through guest lectures, seminars, awareness programmes and other welfare activities.

The Women Welfare Committee has been established in the college in 2007 to safeguard the self esteem and to maintain an environment of women’s safety dignity and equality on the campus. The college is committed to develop a conducive atmosphere on the campus where women can work safely with poise and equal opportunities and takes all steps requisite in this direction. The cell works in accordance with the constitutional and Supreme Court mandate of prohibition of gender discrimination and sexual harassment.

Gender sensitization is not a topic for students alone but is requisite for all sections of the community - students, faculty in all disciplines, support staff and ADMINISTRATION. Gender equality is not addressed in most campuses whether in the classroom or beyond. There is puzzlement and unawareness about women’s rights, questions of sexuality, interaction among peers, norms of masculinity and femininity, and an understanding of the diverse and heterogeneous composition of college and university campuses. Colleges are not merely ‘workplaces’ where faculty and non teaching staff are employed but are places where students come to learn and be trained for their professional careers, and to realize their full potential as individuals. It is therefore imperative that all students, particularly women students, are provided with a safe and dignified environment in which they are able to achieve these goals, because only then will they be able to realize the constitutional promise of equality. The goal of Sexual Harassment policy is to end the problem faced by the student/employee through an internal system of relief that is easy to access, and thereby to endow with an effective remedy to the aggrieved appellant as quickly as possible so that she can continue to study and develop without further impediments. The larger perspective guiding sexual harassment policy is to be educational, preventive, corrective and, when punitive, to carry out processes following a complaint with sensitivity, rigour and justice.




Every year on March 8th on the occasion of the International Women’s day, the college organizes a rally from the college with all the staff members and girl students.


1 Dr. S. Sailaja Radhakrishna Chairperson
2 Dr. R. Vasudeva Reddy Member
3 Mrs. D. Shanmukhi Jyothi Member
4 Mrs. N.V. Subalakshmi Member
5 Mrs. B. Shantikala Member
6 Mrs. C. Neelaveni Member
7 Dr. A. Chandraiah Member
8 Dr. Asha Chadha Member
9 Mrs. G. N. Sumathi Member
10 Mrs. Razia Sultana Member
11 Mrs. Usha Rao Member
12 Mrs. Pallavi Member
13 Mr. Ch. Indrasena Reddy Member
14 Mr. G. Rahul Member
15 Mr. Mohammed Javeed Member

Bulletin Board